Schedule of Events for Democratic National Convention, Aug. 17-20

The Democratic National Convention Committee (DNCC) and Democratic National Committee (DNC) today announced the leaders from across the nation who have been asked to serve as permanent officers for the 2020 Democratic National Convention, as well as the initial schedule for the convention’s four nights of programming. Both items have been submitted to the Democratic National Convention Committee Rules Committee, who will ratify these items at their meeting tomorrow. 

Convention organizers also released the initial schedule of daytime activities, including virtual caucus and council meetings, where delegates will come together to hear from party and community leaders as they continue to organize and mobilize their constituencies. The schedule can be viewed on the convention’s website at

“We are looking forward to a historic convention anchored in Milwaukee, and through the leadership of the permanent officers who will help oversee this convention Democrats will come together to continue the work to elect Joe Biden as the next President of the United States,” said DNC Chair Tom Perez. “We have an exciting lineup of programming over the course of four nights as we seek a better future for all Americans, and unite around our shared values and Joe Biden’s vision for a better, safer future for the country.”

The proposed Permanent Officers of the 2020 Democratic National Convention are:

HONORARY CHAIRS—Speaker Nancy Pelosi (CA), Minority Leader Charles Schumer (NY)

PERMANENT CONVENTION CHAIR—Congressman Bennie Thompson (MS)

PERMANENT CO-CHAIRS—Governor Phil Murphy (NJ), Senator Tammy Duckworth (IL), Senator Tom Carper (DE), Mayor Tom Barrett (WI), Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms (GA), Congressman Tony Cárdenas (CA)


VICE CHAIRS—Senator Bob Casey (PA), Congresswoman Sharice Davids (KS), Congresswoman Donna Shalala (FL), Former Congresswoman Carol Shea-Porter (NH), Lieutenant Governor Mandela Barnes (WI), Lieutenant Governor Kate Marshall (NV), Lieutenant Governor Garlin Gilchrist (MI), Former Congressman Tony Coelho (CA)

PARLIAMENTARIANS—Congressman Steny Hoyer (MD), Helen McFadden (SC), Sarah Merkel (AL), State Senator Yvanna Cancela (NV)

SERGEANT-AT-ARMS—Congresswoman Gwen Moore (WI)

The proposed Official Agenda for the 2020 Democratic National Convention is:


  • Opening Ceremonies
  • Committee Reports (Credentials, Rules and Platform)
  • Select Speakers


  • Keynote Address
  • Presidential Candidate Nominating and Seconding Speeches
  • Roll Call Vote for the Presidential Nominee


  • Vice Presidential Candidate Nomination and Acclamation
  • Acceptance Speech by the Nominee for Vice President


  • Acceptance Speech by the Nominee for President
  • Adjournment

Leave a Reply